EXHIBIT 2

LABETTE COMMUNITY COLLEGE Board of Trustees Minutes January 12, 2017

The Board of Trustees met at 5:30 p.m. on Thursday, January 12, 2017 in the Conference Room, Student Success Center Building.

Members Present

Mr. Montie Taylor Mrs. Sophia Zetmeir Mr. Carl Hoskins Mr. Pat McReynolds Mr. Mike Howerter Mr. David Winchell

Others Present

Dr. George Knox Leanna Doherty Janice Every Lindi Forbes Bethany Kendrick Tammy Fuentez Sue Brouk April Walker Jack Burke Mike Keal Kathy Johnston Chandler Gravett Cathy Hyten Tim Miller Mark Watkins Joe Burke Neil Phillips Ron Holsteen

Megan Fugate recorded the minutes.

Adoption of Agenda (ACTION ITEM)

Chair Hoskins asked for changes or additions to the revised agenda. President Knox had no changes. Mrs. Zetmeir moved to approve the agenda as presented. Mr. Winchell seconded and motion carried 6-0.

Approval of Regular Meeting Minutes (ACTION ITEM)

Chair Hoskins asked for corrections or additions to the December 8, 2016 regular meeting minutes, Mr. Winchell moved to approve the minutes as presented. Mr. Taylor seconded and motion carried 6-0.

Introductions

Dr. Knox introduced Bruce Bowles, Nurse Faculty

<u>Reports and/or Board Discussion</u> <u>Cardinal Villas Student Housing Update</u> April Walker gave a brief update.

Faculty Senate Report Jack Burke had no report

Administrative Report

Comparison of expenditures to the budget – Leanna Doherty had placed the December financial report at the table. At the end of December we were 50% through the year. The general fund was 46% expended and the technical education/vocational fund was 49% expended. She invited questions from the Trustees and welcomed phone calls at a later date.

Vice-President Doherty gave a brief update on the library renovation.

<u>President's Report</u> Dr. Knox gave a short report.

<u>Presidential Hire</u>

Chair McReynolds reported that we will have an executive session as the end of the meeting with no action after.

<u>Audit</u>

Neil Phillips of Jarred, Gilmore, & Phillips was in attendance to review the audit. It was an unqualified opinion with no findings.

Mr. Phillips stated that LCC had a clean report with no issues.

Mr. McReynolds commended the staff on a job well done.

Old Business (ACTION, INFORMATION OR DISCUSSION ITEMS)

Approval of Revised Programs

Mr. McReynolds moved to approve the Computer Support Specialist AAS degree and two supporting certificates. Mr. Taylor seconded and motion carried 6-0.

New Business (ACTION, INFORMATION OR DISCUSSION ITEMS)

Policy Review

Presented the Board with Policy 3.03 Catalog and Policy 3.05 Credit for Prior Learning for review. We will request approval in February

<u>Approval of Bills</u> Mrs. Zetmeir moved to approve the payment of the bills. Mr. Winchell seconded and motion carried 6-0.

Public Comment None

Executive Session

Executive session for the purpose of discussing non-elected personnel to protect the interests of the individual(s) to be discussed.

Mrs. Zetmeir moved to recess into executive session at 6:05pm for 30 minutes for the purpose of discussing personnel matters of nonelected personnel, inviting in Leanna Doherty, Janice Every, Megan Fugate, Mike Keal, Ron Holsteen, Cathy Hyten, Chandler Gravett, and Tim Miller.

The Board will return to open meeting at 6:35pm in this room.

The executive session is required to protect the privacy interests of the individual(s) to be discussed.

Mr. McReynolds seconded and motion carried 6-0.

Returned to open session at 6:35pm.

Executive session for the purpose of discussing non-elected personnel to protect the interests of the individual(s) to be discussed.

Mrs. Zetmeir moved to recess into executive session at 6:35pm for 30 minutes for the purpose of discussing personnel matters of nonelected personnel, inviting in Leanna Doherty, Janice Every, Megan Fugate, Mike Keal, Ron Holsteen, Cathy Hyten, Chandler Gravett, and Tim Miller.

EXHIBIT 2

The Board will return to open meeting at 7:05pm in this room.

The executive session is required to protect the privacy interests of the individual(s) to be discussed.

Mr. Howerter seconded and motion carried 6-0.

Returned to open session at 7:05pm.

Executive session for the purpose of discussing non-elected personnel to protect the interests of the individual(s) to be discussed.

Mr. Howerter left the meeting at 7:10pm

Mrs. Zetmeir moved to recess into executive session at 7:10pm for 15 minutes for the purpose of discussing personnel matters of nonelected personnel, inviting in Leanna Doherty, Janice Every, Megan Fugate, Mike Keal, Ron Holsteen, Cathy Hyten, Chandler Gravett, and Tim Miller.

The Board will return to open meeting at 7:25pm in this room.

The executive session is required to protect the privacy interests of the individual(s) to be discussed.

Mr. McReynolds seconded and motion carried 5-0.

Mr. Howerter returned to the meeting at 7:12pm

Returned to open session at 7:25pm.

Executive session for the purpose of discussing non-elected personnel to protect the interests of the individual(s) to be discussed.

Mrs. Zetmeir moved to recess into executive session at 7:25pm for 10 minutes for the purpose of discussing personnel matters of nonelected personnel, inviting in Leanna Doherty, Janice Every, Megan Fugate, Mike Keal, Ron Holsteen, Cathy Hyten, Chandler Gravett, and Tim Miller.

The Board will return to open meeting at 7:35pm in this room.

The executive session is required to protect the privacy interests of the individual(s) to be discussed.

Mr. McReynolds seconded and motion carried 6-0.

Returned to open session at 7:35pm.

Mr. McReynolds announced the names of the Presidential Candidates;

- Dr. Todd Carter, Seward County Community College
- Dr. Glenn Coltharp, Crowder Community College
- Dr. Scott Stallman, Lincoln Land Community College
- Dr. Mark Watkins, Labette Community College

EXHIBIT 2

<u>Next Board Meeting: Date, Place, Time, and Tentative Agenda Items</u> Chair Hoskins reminded everyone of the next regular meeting of the Board of Trustees scheduled for February 9, 2017 at 5:30 p.m., Conference Room, Student Success Center Building.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Mr. Taylor moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:40pm. Mr. Zetmeir seconded and motion carried 6-0.

Megan Fugate, Clerk of the Board