FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact Bethany Kendrick Director Public Relations Labette Community College (620) 820-1280

LCC Holds Student Award Ceremony

Labette Community College held their annual Student Awards Ceremony Tuesday, May 6th in the Thiebaud Theatre. There were many awards given to individual students as well as student organizations.

Students were recognized as "Who's Who Among American Colleges and Universities." This award honors students from universities and colleges as well as junior colleges on a national level. The following LCC students were honored:

Aaron Matthews, Parsons, KS Abby Chickadonz, Fredonia, KS Abby Cruse, Parsons, KS AbbyJo Hilderbrand, Bartlett, KS Abigail Kaiser, Erie, KS Alexander Prince, Parsons, KS Ali Pemberton, Parsons, KS Alice Cardona-Otero, Arecibo, KS Amber Figura, Parsons, KS Amy Henry, Columbus, KS Anna Njau, Carl Junction, KS B. Nicole Bates, Altamont, KS Brandee Main, Pittsburg, KS Brian Blythe, Pittsburg, KS Carla Wester, Parsons, KS Charline Anien, Pittsburg, KS Chelsi Birmingham, Parsons, KS Conner Neal, Wichita, KS Crystal Itote, Pittsburg, KS David Smith, Parsons, KS Deborah Moore, Thayer, KS Eric Berry, Pittsburg, KS Gianna Arthur, Girard, KS Jacqueline Sisk, Girard, KS Jonnie Eckles, Pittsburg, KS Jerry Jones, Inola, KS Jessica Boone, Parsons, KS Jodi Thompson, Parsons, KS Jordan Craft, Yates Center, KS Kasey Green, Parsons, KS Kathleen Pierce, Parsons, KS Keri Thompson, Girard, KS Kiersten Whipps, Parsons, KS Kyle Helm, Parsons, KS Kylie Angleton, Parsons, KS Lakkin Keene-Rowland, Parsons, KS Laura Daniels, Erie, KS Lindsey Potter, Pittsburg, KS

Lydia Lance, Bronson, KS Macey Brake, Parsons, KS Madeline Holzem, Parsons, KS Margaret Scott, Pittsburg, KS Margel Feland, Oswego, KS Marshall Phelan, Nixa, MO Michele Francis, Pittsburg, KS Michelle Fry, Pittsburg, KS Misty Collins, Parsons, KS Morgan Little, Girard, KS Parker Robertson, Parsons, KS Peggy Wilson, Parsons, KS Piyathida Siriprasertchok, Joplin, MO Preston Patton, Parsons, KS Rebecca Pearcev, Nixa, MO Rachel Jarrell, Stark, KS Rachel Van Ommen, Independence, KS Roberta O'Neal, Pittsburg, KS Robyn Gant, Parsons, KS Samantha Ghanchi, Oswego, KS Sherry Burke, Parsons, KS Stephanie Cheney, McCune, KS Stephanie Simmons, Tyro, KS Tasha Dean, Pittsburg, KS Terri Ellis, Parsons, KS Tiara Ford, Parsons, KS Travis Jarret, Parsons, KS

The "You Rock the Year Award" was given to Lydia Lance. This award is given out annually to a student who has shown tremendous support, dedication, and involvement to the student organizations at LCC. Lance was the president of Student Government Association, Campus Activities Board, and Radiography Club, and was a member of the international honor society Phi Theta Kappa.

The "Continued Excellence Award" is given to a group that continues to excel in the area of leadership and service each year. The 2014 "Continued Excellence Award" went to the Tau Theta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.

The "Top Health Care Student Organization of the Year" went to the Kansas Association of Nursing Students, and the "Top Student Organization of the Year" was awarded to Radiography Club. Both of these student organizations showed outstanding involvement on and off campus throughout the school year.

The top twenty students at LCC were also recognized. These are students that have shown significant involvement in student activities and community service, and have maintained a 3.0 grade point average in the classroom after completing a minimum of fifteen hours. These students must have shown excellent leadership and participation skills by holding an officer position in one or more student organization recognized by the Student Government Association, being a member of at least two student organizations, or participating on an LCC athletic team.

The Top 20 Cardinals are listed below.

Abby Chickadonz – Parsons, KS Abby Cruse – Parsons, KS Anna Njau – Joplin, MO Billiejo Nicole Bates – Altamont, KS Brandee Main – Pittsburg, KS Deborah Moore – Thayer, KS Eric Berry – Pittsburg, KS
Jacqueline Sisk – Girard, KS
Jodi Thompson – Parsons, KS
Jordan Craft – Yates Center, KS
Kelsey Fentress – Altamont, KS
Keri Thompson – Girard, KS
Kylie Angleton – Parsons, KS
Laura Daniels – Erie, KS
Lydia Lance – Humboldt, KS
Marshall Phelan – Nixa, MO
Misty Collins – Parsons, KS
Rachel Jarrell – Stark, KS
Rebecca Pearcey – Nixa, MO
Tasha Dean – Pittsburg, KS

The Advisor of the Year award was transformed this year into the Elaine Guy Award of Distinction for Advising. Elaine Guy was a long-time LCC employee and advisor of Phi Beta Lambda, and passed away unexpectedly earlier this year. In her memory, an award to the advisor who has shown tremendous support, dedication, and involvement to his or her student organization at LCC will be given out. This year's recipient of the Elaine Guy Award of Distinction for Advising was Tammy Fuentez.

The LCC Library presented the "Paper of the Year" Awards to the following recipients:

- 1st Place Creative Division Fred (Saleta) Shadley
- 1st Place Research Division Melanie D. Wilson
- 2nd Place Research Division Brandee Cathleen Main
- 3rd Place Research Division Bailey Keeling

For more information on the Student Awards Ceremony, please contact Melissa Nance, Student Life Specialist, at (620) 820-1178 or by e-mail at melissan@labette.edu.