

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 19, 2014

System-Wide Reverse Transfer Now in Kansas

(Topeka, Kansas) - "Recognizing reverse transfer as an important element of a seamless educational system, Kansas state universities, community colleges, technical colleges, Washburn University and Washburn Institute of Technology, agree to work together to develop a process to assist students to complete coursework for and attain all certificates and degrees for which they are eligible," was the opening statement of a document signed by all 32 public postsecondary institution presidents.

Presenting the signed resolution to Chairman Fred Logan at this month's meeting of the Board, Emporia State University President Michael Shonrock, Co-Chair of the FY2014 System Council of Presidents, read: "This commitment aims to better facilitate the transfer of students, enhance the number and quality of learning options at Kansas public postsecondary institutions, and provide a seamless transfer process for students."

Statewide reverse transfer policies are now in effect in twenty U.S. states, including Kansas, following the approval of a Board of Regents policy in March 2014.

Within a student's first semester, each university will now notify all students who transfer coursework from a community college or technical college if they are eligible to be considered for reverse transfer degree status, and which courses are needed to finish the related degree. Students who then complete the coursework for a given associate's degree are eligible to receive that degree, administered automatically by correspondence between the university and community college or technical college the student last attended.

"I was one credit short of receiving my associate's degree when I transferred from Johnson County Community College, to Washburn University," says Briana Lewis, a recent graduate in the College of Arts and Sciences. "It would have been so rewarding to have been issued that degree once I completed the classes for it, after putting forth so much hard work, time, and money." Briana continued, "This is a great thing, and I believe many will benefit from the implementation of reverse transfer in Kansas."

States with policies allowing or requiring reverse transfer procedures as of June 2014 include: Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Nevada, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas and West Virginia.

For more information, contact Breeze Richardson at (785) 291-3969 or brichardson@ksbor.org.

Photo Caption: Emporia State University President Michael Shonrock, Co-Chair of the FY2014 System Council of Presidents, signs the "Commitment to Statewide Reverse Transfer." Credit: Kansas Board of Regents

###

About the Kansas Board of Regents:

The nine-member Kansas Board of Regents is the governing board of the state's six universities and the statewide coordinating board for the state's 32 public higher education institutions (seven public universities, nineteen community colleges, and six technical colleges). In addition, the Board administers the state's student financial aid, adult education, GED, and career and technical education programs. The Board also authorizes private proprietary schools and out-of-state institutions to operate in Kansas, and administers the Kan-ed network, a program for facilitating and promoting distance learning and telemedicine in schools, libraries and hospitals. Visit the Kansas Board of Regents online at www.kansasregents.org.



Commitment to Statewide Reverse Transfer

Recognizing reverse transfer as an important element of a seamless educational system, Kansas state universities, community colleges, technical colleges, Washburn University and Washburn Institute of Technology, agree to work together to develop a process to assist students to complete coursework for and attain all certificates and degrees for which they are eligible.

This commitment aims to better facilitate the transfer of students, enhance the number and quality of learning options at Kansas public postsecondary institutions, and provide a seamless transfer process for students. Collaboration will result in the development of necessary procedures and agreements for implementation, effective Fall of Academic Year 2014.

2/10x5-

Butler Community College

President Danette E. Toone Cloud County Community College

President Linda Moley

Coffeyville Community College

C. A H.A

Salina Area Technical College

President Duane M. Dunn

President Anthony Kinkel

Wichita Area Technical College

Area Technical School

Seward County Community College/

Male DX (mS		1 Dunan	
President Michael D. Shonrock Emporia State University Co-Chair of the FY2014 System Cou	Barton Commi	President Carl Heilman Barton Community College Co-Chair of the FY2014 System Council of Presidents	
	CZ L)	1 12014 System Council of Arestaents	
Elward H. Hammon	Just Maul	Duens	
President Edward H. Hammond Fort Hays State University	President Stephen Vacik Colby Community College	President Poris Givens Kansas City Kansas Community College	
Vink H Self	Sall	George C. Kung	
President Kirk H. Schulz	President Tony Crouch	President George Knox	
Kansas State University	Cowley Community College	Labette Community College	
La A. Sext	La Serbal		
President Steven A. Scott	President Don A. Woodburn	President Robert J. Edleston	
Pittsburg State University	Dodge City Community College	Manhattan Area Telhnidal College	
Bernadelle Gray-Lade	RDean Hollenbeck	Agrica Tull	
Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little	President R. Dean Hollenbeck	President Brian Inbody	
University of Kansas	Flint Hills Technical College	Neosho County Community College	
John w Bardo	Clayton N. Jatro	En Sul	
President John W. Bardo	President Clayton N. Tatro	President Eric Burks	
Wichita State University	Fort Scott Community College	North Central Kansas Technical College	
Jerry Tarley	Nedert 1 Swander	Jus 9 HILL	
President Jerry Farley	President Herbert J. Swender	President Guy F. Mills	
Washburn University	Garden City Community College	Northwest Kansas Technical College	
QD Martin	Daw Reit	mikal D. Calvat	
President John Masterson	President David Reist	President Michael Calvert	
Allen Community College	Highland Community College	Pratt Community College	
Kimberly W. Krull		Every Coarla	
President Kimberly W. Krull	President Edward Berger	President Greg Goode	

Hutchinson Community College

President Daniel W. Barwick

Independence Community College

Johnson County Community College