FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact Bethany Kendrick Director Public Relations Labette Community College (620) 820-1280

LCC Holds Student Award Ceremony

Parsons, KS - Labette Community College held their annual Student Awards Ceremony Thursday, April 30 in the Thiebaud Theatre. There were many awards given to individual students as well as student organizations.

Students were recognized as "Who's Who Among American Colleges and Universities." This award honors students from universities and colleges as well as junior colleges on a national level. The following LCC students were honored: Regan Albertini, St. Paul; Kady Barrett, Columbus; Chelsea Bockover, Pittsburg; Monica Brown, Erie; Kerri Butler, Pittsburg; Kari Ann Cavin, Arcadia; Caitlin Closs, Mound Valley; Jordan Craft and Tasha Dean, Pittsburg; Lindsey Drummond, Parsons; Natasha Farmer, Galena; Christine Frost, St. Paul; Kaleb Furr, Manford, OK; Kathryn Gray and Lacey Hadaegh, Parsons; Sandy Hickman, Frontenac; Amber Hodgden, Galesburg; Malina Kipp, Parsons; Lydia Lance, Humboldt; Bria Maples, St. Paul; Caitlin Miller Gurnee, Pittsburg; Allie Murphy, Altamont; Ijeoma Ofoma, Pittsburg; Brenden O'Hara, Columbus; Sydney Pemberton, Parsons; Dusti Ann Rhoads, Erie; Jacqueline Sisk, Girard; Alicia Spradling, Oswego; Samantha Terrell, Altamont; Keri Thompson, Girard; Billiejo Nicole Bates, Altamont; Desiree' Boyes, Galena; Abby Chickadonz, Parsons; Abby Churning, Parsons; Brianna McGee, Edna; Megan Thompson, Pittsburg; Jill Troy, Neodesha; and Whitney Wolken, Erie.

The top twenty students at LCC were also recognized. These are students that have shown significant involvement in student activities and community service, and have maintained a 3.0 grade point average in the classroom after completing a minimum of fifteen hours. These students must have shown excellent leadership and participation skills by holding an officer position in one or more student organization recognized by the Student Government Association, being a member of at least two student organizations, or participating on an LCC athletic team. The Top 20 Cardinals are listed below.

Regan Albertini, St. Paul, KS Billiejo Nicole Bates, Altamont, KS Chelsea Bockover, Pittsburg, KS Desiree' Boyes, Galena, KS Abby Chickadonz, Parsons, KS Abby Churning, Parsons, KS Christine Frost, St. Paul, KS Lacey Hadaegh, Parsons, KS Malina Kipp, Parsons, KS Bria Maples, St. Paul, KS Brianna McGee, Edna, KS Ijeoma O. Ofoma Pittsburg, KS Sydney Pemberton, Parsons, KS Jacqueline Sisk, Girard, KS Alicia Spradling, Oswego, KS Samantha Terrell, Altamont, KS Keri Thompson, Girard, KS Megan Thompson, Pittsburg, KS Jill Troy, Neodesha, KS Whitney Wolken, Erie, KS

A new award was presented at this year's ceremony, the Cardinal Alumni Leadership Award was developed by an anonymous donor to recognize student leadership talents. Cardinal Alumni Leadership Award Nominees were Nicole Bates, Audra Beason, Chelsea Bockover, Desiree Boyes, Jacqueline Sisk, Samantha Terrell, Keri Thompson. This year's recipient of the Cardinal Alumni Leadership Award, a personalized granite pen stand, was Keri Thompson.

The Broken Wing Award is presented to students that soaring above adversities in educational pursuits. The recipients were Eric Hudson of Parsons, Audra Beason. Athletes of the Year was awarded to Luis Alvarado of Morovis, Puerto Rico and Samantha Bonner from Girard.

The "Top Student Organization Service Award" went to the Radiography Club, who showed outstanding involvement on and off campus throughout the school year.

The "Continued Excellence Award" is given to a group that continues to excel in the area of leadership and service each year. The 2015 "Continued Excellence Award" went to the Tau Theta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.

The Advisor of the Year award was transformed this year into the Elaine Guy Award of Distinction for Advising. Elaine Guy was a long-time LCC employee and advisor of Phi Beta Lambda. In her memory, an award to the advisor who has shown tremendous support, dedication, and involvement to his or her student organization at LCC will be given out. This year's recipient of the Elaine Guy Award of Distinction for Advising was Melissa Kipp.

The LCC Library presented the "Paper of the Year" Awards to the following recipients: <u>Creative Division:</u>

 2^{nd} Place McKenzie Lewis for her paper, *Five Again*.

1st Place Madison Lewis for her paper, *Just One Sip.*

Research Division:

 $\overline{3^{rd}}$ Place Madison Lewis for her paper, *Life or Death*

2nd Place Samantha Terrell for her paper, *Prostitution*

1st Place Jessica Letterman for her paper, Agriculture in Ancient Egypt and Mesopotamia

For more information on the Student Awards Ceremony, please contact Melissa Nance, Student Life Specialist, at (620) 820-1178 or by e-mail at <u>melissan@labette.edu</u>.