LCC Honor Society Earn Top Award for Third Year

March 9, 2022


2022 Kansas-Nebraska Region ConventionPhoto: l to r: Tammy Fuentez, LCC PTK Advisor; Ashley Horton, Keyana Brown, Haley Farran, Copenhagen Browning, Megan Baldwin, Emily Langston, Fiona Bartelli

The Labette Community College Tau Theta Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society has been named the Most Outstanding Chapter in the Kansas/Nebraska Region, for the third year in a row. The honor society was awarded this esteemed recognition during the Regional Convention on March 4-6 in Overland Park, Kansas. 

LCC attended the regional conference with seven members and one advisor. The conference included keynote speakers Dan Meers (KC Wolf), Devin Henderson, and Bill Cordes. Additional time was spent learning about the honor society as well as leadership development activities. 

“Tau Theta students continue to earn top awards each year at regional and international conferences. These students put forth great effort toward academics as well as their extracurricular activities while at LCC,” said Tau Theta advisor, Tammy Fuentez.

The chapter returned to campus with the following awards:

Chapter Awards

Most Outstanding Chapter

Honors in Action Project Winner

Service Award Winner

Great Idea Award Winner

Sister Chapter Award Winner

College Project Award – 4th Place

Five Star Chapter Award

Individual Awards

Fiona Bartelli – Distinguished Chapter Officer Award Winner

Ashley Horton – Distinguished Chapter Officer Award 3rd Place

Tammy Fuentez – Continued Excellence in Advising Award Winner

Fiona Bartelli and Ashley Horton – Distinguished Chapter Officer Team Award 3rd Place

Fiona Bartelli – Achievement in Literature Award – Research Division 2nd Place

Katrina Egermeier – Achievement in Literature Award- Research Division 5th Place

Megan Baldwin – Achievement in Literature Award – Creative Division 4th Place

Katrina Egermeier – Achievement in Art Award – Ceramics Division 2nd Place

Katrina Egermeier– Achievement in Art Award – Drawing/Painting Division 4th Place

Ashley Horton – Achievement in Art Award – Drawing/Painting Division 5th Place

Megan Baldwin – Healthcare Edge Award and Transfer Edge Award

Alexandria Jenkins – Competitive Edge Award and Research Edge Award

Fiona Bartelli – Alumni Association Scholarship Winner

Fiona Bartelli – Regional “You Rock” Award Winner

Copenhagen Browning was elected as the Regional Vice President of Fellowship and Haley Farran was elected as the Regional Vice President of Service

Fiona Bartelli received an Alumni Association Scholarship.

The Tau Theta Chapter will travel to the International Catalyst Convention in Denver, CO the first week of April. For more information about PTK, email


PR Contacts

Janice Reese

Director of Public Relations
(620) 820-1280